My Great Grandmother’s Diary

Skip passed this if you already read this on my facebook page. I’m taking a bit of a detour from my normal listing because I wanted to share this with you. I’ll be blogging continuations from Ernestine’s diary in my next post…

   Jenna's Photos of My Diaries 003 I was organizing some of my diaries and came across my great grandmother’s diary and photo. The photo and the diary were written in August of 1930 when my Great Grandmother was traveling on board a ship to France with a group called the Gold Star Mother’s. For those of you who don’t know who they are, the organization was formed during WWI and devoted to women whose husbands or sons died because of casualties caused by the war. The history behind the Gold Star Mother’s is fascinating and can be read here:

http://www.goldstarmoms.com/whoweare/history/history.htm

     Perhaps the most incredible part of Great Grandmother’s story is that during WWI her son was lost on the ship (or collier) the USS Cyclops which was bound for France. On the way the ship disappeared in the Bermuda Triangle. Since none of the bodies of the men were ever found, and all of the women in this group had son’s on the Cyclops, they were traveling together to visit the graves that were placed in honor of their sons on the soils of France. One Newspaper from 1930 talking about this trip said….. “There were 309 aboard the ill-fated Cyclops when the 19,000 ton Collier left Barbados, West Indies on March 4th, 1918 and dropped from sight in one of the strangest mysteries of the sea. The War Department notified families of the Cyclops crew that she was missing. They have received no other word.”

     Here’s a fantastic article about the USS Cyclops and the Bermuda Triangle.

 http://bermudatrianglecentral.blogspot.com/2012/05/uss-cyclops.html

     Finally, on the way back home my Great Grandmother wrote the most touching and heart wrenching poem concerning her son….

 

“Mother why the Gold Star up on your breast?

That means my boy was laid to rest.

Wrapped in the flag, he fought so brave and now he sleeps beneath the waves.

No grassy mound to mark the place, he lays only restless,

and waves that rise and fall mark where he lays. 

And in this mighty roar I seem to hear, I look up and he is not there.

But he is here; his spirit is with me, not in the angry sea,

and while his resting place I may not see, Dear Lord I know my boy is with thee.

If the ocean claimed my son, he is with thee,

Thy will be done.”

This entry was posted in 19th Century Travel Diaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

